If you are wondering if farro is gluten free, then here’s your answer:
Farro is not gluten-free, but it is considerably lower in gluten than commercial wheat varieties so it is a good alternative, if you are looking for a low-gluten choice.
It is considerably lower in gluten than standard wheat,partly due to the fact that it has not been cultivated over thousands of years for maximum yield (among other other qualities), plus it is much more easily broken down by the human digestive tract than other common forms of wheat.
(Try it. You can buy premium farro here)
For those of you who don’t know what gluten is, here’s a quick primer: Gluten is a protein in wheat (including spelt, Kamut khorasan, einkorn and farro/emmer), barley, rye and triticale (a rye/wheat hybrid) that is difficult for some people to digest and can cause discomfort and bloating.
Gluten-intolerant people can eat whole grains. A large number of gluten-free grain choices are available. In fact did you know that many grains are gluten-free? The grains below are gluten-free whole grains, when they are consumed with all of their bran, germ, and endosperm.
- Amaranth (get the premium organic variety here)
- Corn (Eat Corn Grits!)